10 years, a brief update and more frustration

Hi whoever is reading this, it’s been a while. How have you been?

A lot has changed recently for me, I’m actually now able to work full-time. It’s a hard job too, photocopier engineer. Lots of driving, lots of delivering toner, lots of carrying photocopiers up and down stairs. My band’s back together and we now have a monthly slot at a venue near us, we’re still looking at getting more gigs and we’ve really widened the range of music that we play which is a great thing in my eyes. Still with my incredible girlfriend, in fact, it’s just been over 5 years and I wouldn’t be where I am today without her support.

I’m honestly surprised I can do this job given how I’ve felt over the years. I’m still exhausted at the end of each day, which, after 6 months of doing this job is a sign I’m still not well, it’s not just having to adjust from a very low-effort job into such a physical one.

On that note, I had an appointment with an endocrinologist today. A review of how I’m doing on the thyroid meds. Nothing much came from it besides repeating all the same blood tests and the usual frustration.

This endocrinologist used to work at a chronic fatigue clinic and REALLY thinks CBT, GET, and mindfulness will help me so much. What I think will really help me is increasing my levothyroxine from 100mcg to 125mcg.

I hate that my list of diagnoses says: Hypothyroidism due to Hashimoto’s thyroiditis and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I was diagnosed with CFS BECAUSE THEY DIDN’T LISTEN TO ME ABOUT MY THYROID. But now it’s sat there, they see both and say that my thyroid is fine, it’s my cfs causing the issues. It’s not. I don’t know how to convince them that my TSH needs to be towards the lower end of ‘normal’ not just within the ‘normal’ range for me to feel my best.

I guess I’ll wait and see what the test results say, then wait for the next review to argue that point further.

I hope you’re well, thank you for reading, and have a good day.

Leave a comment